We Believe…

Ever since I moved into this house I have been wanting to put the Articles of Faith on the wall… somewhere, somehow.  Going back and forth on different ideas, I finally came up with this one.  The best part is: it cost me $4! Now, don’t be fooled… I already owned photo paper and glue sticks and an exacto knife and a brown stamp.  But, if you already own those things, you can do this for $4, too. The only purchase you have to make is 4 foam boards from the dollar store.  The ones by the poster board.

Also, this was a fast project.  I started it yesterday and finished today.  HOWEVER, I have already done the most time-consuming parts for you.  So, whether you put these on your wall at home or in a primary room somewhere, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

P1030468

Step 1. Print out the file.  The link is at the bottom of this post.  I printed mine on photo paper, but you could print on normal paper or card stock… they will all have a slightly different finish, so make it look how you want it to look.  This is, after all, your project.

P1030462

Step 2. Cut out all the  papers exactly.

P1030458

Step 3. Take sheets of foam board and trace a square onto the board.  You can get 6 squares out of one board, 3 squares and the 13th AofF rectangle, which is 8×26 on the second foam board, and all three 8×17 rectangles on the third board. Cut with an exacto knife.  I used the fourth board to lie under the boards while cutting so I didn’t cut my carpet.  If you have a huge cutting mat, you can just buy 3 foam boards and make this even cheaper.

P1030461

Step 4. Use your stamp pad to edge all the sides of the boards.  If you hate distressing things as much as I do, but feel like everything needs to be distressed as much as I do, find comfort in knowing that you don’t have to paint all of these edges.  I initially thought I would have to paint them, but the stamp covers enough to make it work!

P1030464

Step 5. Glue the papers onto the foam board.  Make sure you cover all the edges really well, including the edges that will go down the boards where pages meet on the rectangle pieces.  You could also use mod podge if you wanted to, but glue stick is just easier, I think.  I did use a whole glue stick and possibly could have used more than that, so be sure to have plenty on hand!

P1030465

Step 6. Acknowledge your crazy three year old so he isn’t resenting craft time {again!}.

Step 7. Distress the edges of your pages/boards.  This is key as it will make everything cohesive and blended.  It will cover any white of imperfect cutting and just give the project some depth.

P1030466

Step 8. Hang it on your wall.  It will be 53 inches from top to bottom, so measure that out.  I started with 13 and worked my way up so that it was easier to match up sides.  I also cut a piece of paper 1 inch thick to use as a guide for my spacing between boards.  How did I stick them up?  Ticky Tack.  My favorite stuff.

Let me know if you make these and how they turned out… or if you make it better, please share!  🙂

Here’s the link to the PDF version of all the Articles of Faith.

2 thoughts on “We Believe…

  1. These are amazing! I love them. I’m totally making them ASAP. How did I not know about this blog? I love everything on here, you are awesome!!

Leave a Reply

